Bongzilla- Gateway (2002) and introducing the Favorite 100 Albums category

Gateway is probably Bongzilla’s best album, one of my all-time favorites, and as I write this I am thinking that if I had a list of my favorite 100 albums this would definitely be near the top.
So this will be the beginning of a new category of posts; Favorite 100 Albums. I’m not going to go back and add past albums to the list for the sake of convenience, though there are some past posts that would defiantly have made the list, such as the Skatalites, Eastern Standard Time and Bongripper’s Great Barrier Reefer .
This segment will be posted on every date that the day ends in a “1”, so the next favorite 100 Album post will be on the 21st. Why? I don’t know, just because.
Gateway is close to a perfect definition of stoner metal; Down-tuned, heavy, sludge and doom influenced, with screamed vocals borrowed from black metal, it is an album that can be left on repeat for days blending new with the familiar.

download Gateway

Bongzilla@Bandcamp

Leave a comment